25 February 2023 | General

Mawson bursts to early lead in Gold Star race

A DOMINANT Saturday has seen Joey Mawson burst into an early lead in the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship today at AWC Race Tasmania. 

Starting from pole, Mawson got a perfect start and a clear run into race one – and was never headed as he led home Aaron Cameron and Cooper Webster to record a record 10th career S5000 win.

Three different teams were represented on the podium as the new 88Racing / Team BRM partnership got off to a perfect start; the win the 15th for BRM in S5000 competition, equalling long-time rivals GRM.

For good measure, the double champion also set the quickest lap of the race on his path to an ultimately comfortable win.

Mawson’s road to victory was aided by issues for two key GRM rivals as James Golding – who started second – and Roberto Merhi, who was third – both had issues getting to the grid.

Golding had a broken brake rotor that required replacing, meaning he was late to the dummy grid and forced to start from pit lane.

Merhi, meanwhile, was also late out after his car was found to have a damaged wishbone on his car just 20 minutes before race start.

He too was late to the grid, forcing him to start from pit lane and later cop a 10 second penalty as a result.

Behind Mawson, Cameron and Webster, Jordan Boys was fourth for GRM while Golding charged through the field to finish fifth.

Blake Purdie was sixth in his Nippy’s Versa Motorsport entry, after a race long fight with Nic Carroll and Zane Goddard.

The midfield battle was intense throughout as the addition of push to pass made for feisty racing throughout.

Merhi was classified ninth after his 10 second penalty – though had climbed higher than that by race’s end. Mark Rosser rounded out the order.

Two races complete the opening round of the championship tomorrow at AWC Race Tasmania, both live on Stan Sport.