13 May 2023 | General

Fast start, re-start delivers Mawson fourth win

A FAST start and a flying restart saw Joey Mawson deliver his ACM Finance 88 Racing / Team BRM team a fourth consecutive S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship race win today at Phillip Island. 

Starting second, Mawson made the better start of the front row duo and led polesitter Cooper Webster into the opening corner.

He then cleared himself of any attack from the Versa Motorsport driver, while behind them Aaron Cameron edged out James Golding for third position.

The leading quartet ran line astern for the opening half of the race before a mid-race Safety Car closed things up when Mark Rosser came off the road at turn one.

The restart saw Mawson lead the field to green and fend off a strong attack from Webster for much of the first lap back.

The pair ran side-by-side through to turn four before Mawson was able to clear himself in front.

He edged away to win his fourth straight and 13th career S5000 race, moving past 200 laps led in the process.

Webster finished a close second, while the GRM duo swapped positions in the closing stages, Golding racing his way past Cameron at turn four in a close arm-wrestle with a few laps to go.

Blake Purdie finished fifth, Nic Carroll sixth and rookie Winston Smith was seventh.

Jordan Boys and Rosser failed to finish.

Two further races complete the second round of the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship tomorrow, both broadcast live, ad-break free and on-demand on Stan Sport.