11 June 2023 | General

Mawson’s Winton wonderland

ACM’s Joey Mawson has taken a clean sweep at Hi-Tec Oils Race Winton in the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship in a big boost to his title defence.

Mawson was once again too good off the start, streaking clear of James Golding off the front row as the field safely negotiated the tricky first complex at Winton.

The field quickly settled into single file behind, perhaps taking a tentative approach after this morning’s chaotic first lap, as Mawson eked out a half a second margin on Golding at the end of lap one.

As the race progressed both Mawson and Golding started to edge their way clear of Team Valvoline GRM’s Aaron Cameron in third, who had Cooper Webster for company trying to recover from his DNF in Race 2.

As the race entered its second half Webster began to drop away from the rear of Cameron, and was soon under pressure from the other Team Valvoline GRM entry of Jordan Boys.

However, there was no stopping Mawson, who stormed to a new lap record on the final lap in an emphatic display, eventually gapping Golding by just over two seconds.

Cameron rounded out the podium, with Webster regaining some points in fourth, and Boys completing the top five.

The nine-car field was rounded out by Blake Purdie, Winston Smith, Nic Carroll, and Mark Rosser.

Round 4 of the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship will be held at the Beuarepaires Sydney SuperNight over July 28-30 at Sydney Motorsport Park.