19 August 2023 | General

Webster Claims Saturday S5000 Double

Versa Motorsport’s Cooper Webster has stamped his authority on the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship field at The Bend Motorsport Park today, with two wins from as many starts.

Webster won the race to turn one for race two, with the top four of Aaron Cameron (Team Valvoline GRM), Jordan Boys (Team Valvoline GRM) and Aaron Love (Team BRM) holding station, while Blake Purdie (Nippy’s Racing) gained two positions.

The race proved to be a high-speed chess game, with little splitting the field from the third position back.

Purdie made up another place with a pass on Love with three laps to go to claim fourth.

At the chequered flag, it was Webster by 6.2297sec, breaking his own lap record on the final circuit of 12 with a time of 1:43.0009sec.

Second went to Cameron, then Boys, and Purdie, who just held on for fifth position from Ben Bargwanna (Hangcha Racing).

Rounding out the finishers were Nic Carroll (Crown Windows), Kody Garland (Wholesale Diesel) and Mark Rosser (The Fuzzies Game).

In the first encounter, Webster made the most of the start from the outside of the front row, while Purdie, Carroll and Love also gained places on the opening lap of 12, with Love starting rear of grid following a penalty earned on Friday.

Bargwanna made it past Carroll at turn one on lap two and turned on a big power slide in temporarily holding off Love, while Rosser spun at turn six and continued.

Purdie lost ground with a wild spin on lap four, Bargwanna suffered a spin of his own on lap six at turn 15, Carroll was next to spin, while Rosser completed the set with a quick spin at the final turn on lap seven, with the early morning slick track proving hard to handle.

At the chequered flag, it was Webster by 5.5860sec, from Cameron, Boys, Love, Garland, Bargwanna, Purdie, Carroll and Rosser.

The S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship at The Bend concludes tomorrow with the third and final race at 9:05am, with all of the action broadcast live on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo Sports.