20 August 2023 | General

Cameron Claims S5000 Finale at The Bend

Team Valvoline GRM driver Aaron Cameron bounced back to claim the final race of the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship at The Bend today in a highly entertaining encounter.

Blake Purdie (Nippy’s Racing) made the best of the run into turn one but was forced into the grass, while Cooper Webster (Versa Motorsport) defended the lead hard from the fast-starting Aaron Love (Team BRM).

While that pair sorted themselves out, Cameron dived between the duo at turn two to claim the race lead for the first time from the weekend’s three races.

Kody Garland (Wholesale Diesel) came into light contact with Jordan Boys (Team Valvoline GRM) at turn six on the opening lap, while Purdie bounced on the situation, making it past Garland.

Through all of the position changes at the start, Ben Bargwanna (Hangcha Racing) gained two places to settle in fourth, and for a time, pressured Love for the podium.

Ultimately, Boys dived past Bargwanna at the turn six hairpin on lap seven of 12.

By lap nine, Webster came on strong and was challenging Cameron, with the pair running side-by-side through turns six and seven.

At the finish, it was Cameron by 1.5915sec, from Webster, Love, Boys, Bargwanna, Purdie, Garland, Nic Caroll (Crown Windows) and Mark Rosser (The Fuzzies Game).

Cameron also claimed the race’s fastest lap with a 1:43.7384sec on the final circuit.

The S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship concludes on the streets of the Adelaide Parklands on November 23-26 with the VAILO Adelaide 500.