24 November 2023 | General

Cameron Cruises to Opening Adelaide Win

Team Valvoline GRM’s Aaron Cameron has dominated the opening race for the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship in Adelaide to put one hand on the Gold Star.

Cameron led from lights to flag in the Tasman Series opener, breaking the lap record on the final lap of the race with a 1m 16.0357s as he led home a Team Valvoline GRM one-two.

Teammate Jordan Boys matched Cameron’s jump off the front row of the grid, however with the inside line from pole position, the championship leader would take control through the Senna Chicane and would not relinquish that lead.

Nathan Herne’s wild Friday came to a head through the Senna Chicane on the second lap, with the reigning Tasman Series champion tagging the wall after overcorrecting off the turn two kerb.

Herne would join Kobi Williams in the pit lane, however while the S5000 debutant was able to rejoin after contact at turn four on the opening lap, Herne’s Team Valvoline GRM entry was unable to be repaired.

Whilst one Team Valvoline GRM entry was out early, the other two would be in a league of their own, as Cameron crossed the line with almost four seconds in hand over Boys.

Rounding out the podium was Blake Purdie, who enjoyed a great run at his home event to come home six and a half seconds behind Cameron in his Nippy’s Versa Motorsport entry.

Rounding out the field behind Purdie was Ben Bargwanna, Kaleb Ngatoa, Cooper Webster (who charged from eleventh to sixth), Nic Carroll, Sebastien Amadio, Mark Rosser, and the delayed Williams.

The second race for the S5000 Australian Driver’s Championship and Tasman Series begins at 10:45am local time tomorrow morning.

The race will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 506.