25 November 2023 | General

Cameron Wins Disrupted Saturday Race in Adelaide

2023 S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship champion-elect Aaron Cameron has claimed his second win in as many days in a race disrupted by two safety car periods.

In a carbon copy of the start to Race One, Team Valvoline GRM teammates Cameron and Jordan Boys made an even jump off the front row, however with the inside line for the Senna Chicane it was Cameron who took the upper hand.

Whilst two of the Team Valvoline GRM entries were leading the field, the third entry of Nathan Herne was rapidly charging through from the back of the grid, charging from eleventh to eighth by the run to the turn eight sweeper.

Another driver on the charge was Cooper Webster, who had moved to third from sixth on the grid, moving on to the podium with a bold move down the inside of turn three on the Hangcha Racing entry of Ben Bargwanna at turn four on lap three.

The race would be soon placed under safety car for the first time when Sebastien Amadio crashed on the exit of the Senna Chicane on lap four after the Amadio Wines entry had earlier brushed the wall at the turn eight sweeper.

Cameron would lead the field back to green on lap eight, waiting until the last possible moment before accelerating away from Boys and Webster behind, a move that would ultimately seal the win when the safety car was deployed again at the end of the lap.

Mark Rosser tagged the outside wall at turn eight in The Fuzzies Game Team BRM entry, before spinning across to the inside wall and inflicting big damage after a heavy hit with the wall.

The field would greet the chequered flag behind the safety car, with Cameron leading teammate Boys, Webster, Bargwanna, Blake Purdie, Kaleb Ngatoa, Herne, Nic Carroll, and Kobi Williams.

The season finale for the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship begins at 8:30am local time tomorrow morning.

The race will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 506.