20 September 2019 | News

Macrow fastest, Barrichello second in second S5000 practice

A first-lap spin did not stop Tim Macrow extending his run at the top of the S5000 field at Sandown Park, as former F1 racer Rubens Barrichello started to hunt him down.

Macrow trimmed the benchmark time to 1 minute 6.4195 seconds during the second practice session, while Barrichello improved from seventh to second at 1:06.9593, with John Martin in third on 1:07.0014.

There were a couple of dramas with spins, on a track that was slippery in places, and many of the drivers stopped for a tune-up when the session was stopped briefly when Michael Gibson ran off the road.

Even Macrow, who has the most experience in the V8-powered single-seaters, gave in to temptation.

“I wanted to see how far I could push it. And I went a bit too far,” laughs Macrow.

“I spun. On the first lap.”

But he, like everyone at Sandown, is intent on making a good first impression and improving through the “There is a little more in it. We’re leaving a bit in the bank,” he says.

“It was pretty slippery out there and you have to work up to it.”

Barrichello could not stop smiling and admits he is still learning the bumps and high-speed corners at Sandown.

“The car felt much better in P2. I got quicker, so that’s good,” he says.

“In the first session the car was definitely taking me around, and in the second session I was taking more control. And the smile comes to my face. It’s a great feeling to be able to conquer the world.”

For Martin, who is doing double-duty in the TCR Australia Series, the speed came later in the day as he tweaked his car.

“No-one needs to be a hero today,” Martin says.

“In the first session we struggled a little bit, but we reversed a few things. There is more room in it everywhere.

“But it’s about feeling it out, and hopefully it is dry tomorrow and we can take it from there.”

Results: S5000 Practice 2, Sandown

Pos Num Driver Team Car Time Gap
1   23 Tim Macrow     MTEC Motorsport S5000 1:06.4195
2  111 Rubens Barrichello Team BRM S5000 1:06.9593 00.5398
3   24 John Martin        AGI Sport S5000 1:07.0614 00.6419
4   31 James Golding      Garry Rogers Motorsport S5000 1:07.5938 01.1743
5   83 Matthew Brabham    MTEC Motorsport S5000 1:07.6762 01.2567
6   34 Ricky Capo         Modena Engineering S5000 1:08.0101 01.5906
7   97 Taylor Cockerton   MTEC Motorsport S5000 1:08.1117 01.6922
8    8 Alex Davison       Team BRM S5000 1:08.6242 02.2047
9   33 Tim Berryman Team BRM S5000 1:09.2384 02.8189
10  38 Will Brown         Eggleston Motorsport S5000 1:10.2873 03.8678
11  27 Barton Mawer       Milldun Motorsport S5000 1:11.6910 05.2715
12  22 Tom Alexander      AGI Sport S5000 1:11.8833 05.4638
13  11 Michael Gibson     Australian Racing Enterprises S5000 1:31.4995 25.080