14 November 2019 | News

Willmington confirmed for The Bend amongst blockbuster S5000 field

Braydan Willmington has been confirmed as a starter for the second S5000 event at The Bend Motorsport Park this weekend, completing a quality 10 car field of drivers.

Willmington, the son of former Australian touring car privateer stalwart Garry will suit up in one of the ex-AGI Sport S5000s, securing the car to run his own team.

The 22 year old has a rich history in racing, although this will be his first major circuit racing event having spent the majority of his career in the speedway scene.

Willmington started his first three years of racing in the Junior Sedans before turning 16 and moving up to Speedcars. 

In 2016, he started his Sprintcars campaign, running a variety of classes both here in Australia and in the United States.

To this point, his circuit racing experience is limited to club and state level competition.

Willmington got his first taste of S5000 at Wakefield Park last month in a private test. At The Bend tomorrow, he will get more miles under his belt in an open test session that a number of S5000 competitors are taking advantage of.

Willmington will be amongst a strong 10 car field that boasts a hot collection of former Formula Ford, Formula 4, Formula 3, Formula Renault, Superleague Formula and Toyota TRS champions. The drivers include the likes of Supercars stars Anton de Pasquale and James Golding, TCR Australia champion Will Brown, Super2 contender Thomas Randle and British international racer James Winslow.

Also joining the field for the event is the returning stars Tim Macrow, John Martin, Ricky Capo and privateer entrant Michael Gibson.

After entering Sandown under the MTEC team banner, Macrow will compete at The Bend with his own team.

Official practice starts on Friday with two sessions followed by qualifying and Race 1 on Saturday, and other short race on Sunday morning before the all-important feature race in the afternoon.

Saturday’s race and Sunday’s feature race will both be broadcast, live, free and in HD on SBS, and it can also be viewed on the live stream through the website.


Braydan Willmington
Driver, S5000

“I’m incredibly excited for The Bend,” said Braydan Willmington.

“High horsepower, open wheel race cars – they are just like a sprint car asphalt! I just love them. 

“I saw the historic Formula 5000s at the Australian GP a few years ago and I fell in love with them. I’ve been keeping an eye on the S5000 class since it originated and it’s great to finally be involved.

“Wakefield Park was good, just to get some early miles in the car and know what should be expected. I felt like I got down to some reasonable laps times as I started to get comfortable. I’m used to sitting upright over the steering wheel, where this thing, you are laying down. It’s totally different.

“We’re treating The Bend as a practice round for next year. We definitely want to be competitive, so by the end of next year. I’d like to within the top 10. I’m really keeping my expectations realistic as it’s something I haven’t had much experience with.”

Tim Macrow
Driver, S5000

“I’ve run my own cars and other people’s cars in the past so I’m looking forward to being in charge again!” said Tim Macrow. 

“I’ve got a great bunch of guys working on the car so I’m really happy with how the team is shaping up – and with the sponsors and partners I’ve got onboard, its a good springboard into 2020. Next year I’d like to run one or two cars alongside my own, so this event will be a great start for the team.

“The first event at Sandown was such a success all round that next year’s championship is shaping up to be huge. These first two events give the crowd a taste of what’s to come, but also gives the drivers and teams a chance to come to grips with the car. 

“The Bend is going to be a blast! While I’ve done a few laps in a Radical, I’ve never raced there, but the circuit is amazing – the right-hander down the hill in this car is going to be a buzz.”


8                     James Winslow         BRM
11                   Michael Gibson         Australian Racing Enterprises
23                   Tim Macrow              Macrow Motorsport
24                   John Martin               AGi Motorsport
31                   James Golding          GRM
34                   Ricky Capo                Modena Engineering/GRM
38                   Will Brown                 Eggleston Motorsport
49                   Thomas Randle         BRM
89                   Braydan Willmington  BW Motorsport
99                   Anton De Pasquale   BRM