6 March 2020 | News

Fifteen car grid set for historic opening S5000 Championship round

Fifteen cars are confirmed for the inaugural round of the VHT Australian S5000 Championship, including a mix of international stars and strong local drivers.

From former Formula 1 race winners like Rubens Barrichello and Giancarlo Fisichella, to rising international stars Jack Aitken and James Davison, and local hot shots Thomas Randle and Zane Goddard, it is a mouth-watering list of drivers that will take to the Albert Park street track for three races across the four-day event.

Amongst the 15 car field, two of the entries will be brand-new chassis, with those cars to be shaken down at Winton Raceway today by new Garry Rogers Motorsport recruit Luis Leeds.

Reigning Bathurst 1000 champion and S5000 debutant Alex Premat arrived in Australia this morning and heading straight to Winton where he’ll drive test the ex-Matthew Brabham chassis that he’ll drive at Albert Park.

Another test day will unfold for Team BRM on Tuesday at Winton, with Barrichello, Fisichella and Randle all getting track time.

Track action kicks off on Thursday with practice and qualifying, followed by one race on each day on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

See below for the 15 confirmed starters.

16 Jack Aitken UK Team BRM
23 Tim Macrow AUS Tim Macrow Racing
27 Barton Mawer AUS Milldun Motorsport
31 James Golding AUS Garry Rogers Motorsport
33 James Davison AUS/US Team BRM
34 Alexandre Premat FR Garry Rogers Motorsport
38 Giancarlo Fisichella ITA GRM/Borland
39 Antonio Astuti AUS Tim Macrow Racing
49 Thomas Randle AUS Team BRM
88 Jordan Michels NZ Australian Racing Enterprise
89 Braydan Willmington AUS Braydan Willmington
92 Ricky Capo AUS Modena Engineering
93 Zane Goddard AUS Team BRM
99 Luis Leeds AUS Garry Rogers Motorsport
111 Rubens Barrichello BRA Team BRM

See below for video from the recent S5000 test day at The Bend.