10 April 2021 | General

Tickets on sale for bumper Shannons Sydney Motorsport Park event

If it’s racing you like, it’s racing you’ll get in Sydney on the first weekend of May.

Tickets for the upcoming round of the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships at Sydney Motorsport Park on May 1-2 are on sale now.

CLICK HERE for ticketing options.

Nine racing categories will feature on the bill, and tickets can be purchased for Saturday and Sunday’s racing program (May 1 and 2) at the above link. Stay tuned for more details regarding spectator access to the circuit on Friday (April 30).

Nine of Australia’s best racing categories will be on show, headlined by the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series.

Audi driver Chaz Mostert has been the king of TCR in the past two rounds, winning five of the six races and leads the series with a healthy 63 points.

While the TCR series continues to grow in popularity, Sydney spectator’s eyes will also be fixed on the fourth and final round of the VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship.

With the coveted Gold Star on the line, Team BRM driver Joey Mawson is in the box seat, leading the charge having only just made the opening round at Symmons Plains after being caught in hotel quarantine until the 11th hour.

Mawson leads his team-mate Thomas Randle and Tim Macrow by 40 and 43 points respectively, but with a maximum of 130 points on the line, the field is Gold Star remains wide open.

After a two-month lay-off, Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters bounces back into life, with a healthy grid of yesteryear’s touring cars and some of their former stars behind the wheel.

Two-time Bathurst 1000 winner John Bowe leads the title in his Holden Torana SL/R, just 17 points clear of Marcus Zukanovic in his Ford Falcon XD and Cameron Tilley in his Valiant Pacer.

And the V8 power does not stop there, with the National Trans Am Series fronting for its fourth round. After a sensation trio of races at the recent event at Mount Panorama, the Trans Am cars will be a sight to see at the 3.93km circuit.

Aaron Seton holds a slender two point lead over Nathan Herne, while Edan Thornburrow sits in third place.

Joining the four Australian Racing Group categories will be the Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge, Australian Prototype Series, Radical Australia Cup, Aussie Racing Cars and the Australian Production Car Series.

CLICK HERE for ticketing options to the Sydney Motorsport Park event.

For those who can not make the Sydney event, 7mate and 7plus will feature live and free coverage on Saturday and Sunday.