18 August 2021 | General

$50,000 Tasman Series prizemoney fund confirmed

$50,000 in prizemoney will be up for grabs in the S5000 Tasman Series this summer.

The series winner will receive $30,000 for their efforts, with the runner-up winning $10,000 and third place $5,000.

A further $5,000 bonus will be awarded to the best-placed New Zealand or international driver competing in the series.

The re-launched Tasman Series will be comprise seven races across two major events later this year, namely the Supercheap Auto Bathurst International (November 26-28) and the Boost Mobile Gold Coast 500 (December 3-5).

An official ‘Twilight Tasman Test’ will also be held at Sydney Motorsport Park prior to the Bathurst International event.

“A $50,000 prize fund reflects the prestige in which ARG holds the return of the Tasman Series. It is an iconic brand and the rewards on offer for those competing needed to reflect that,” said Matt Braid, Australian Racing Group CEO.

“Investing in a prize fund shows that we are committed to giving the S5000 Tasman Series the best possible launch pad with which to build a long-term future for it and S5000 as a category.

“It also offers the potential of a significant return to those who enter the series and have some success.

“The $5,000 bonus for the top international driver will help add to the value proposition for those coming from New Zealand, or further afield.

“A potential $35,000 windfall, should they win the series, is a worthwhile return over and above a chance to win the Tasman Cup and compete at two iconic circuits.”

Final sporting regulations are currently being developed for the Tasman Series, with qualifying and race formats set to be an evolution of those successfully utilized throughout the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship this year.

The final points structure and grid determination system for the seven races will be confirmed in coming weeks and will continue to provide the best possible mixture of rewarding race winners, while also promoting close competition throughout the series.

The Tasman Series was first contested between 1964 and 1975 with the winner receiving the ‘Tasman Cup’, a trophy co-owned by Motorsport Australia and Motorsport New Zealand.

Both organisations are supporting the return of the Tasman Series brand and the Tasman Cup trophy via S5000 this year.

Every race will be broadcast live on the Seven Network or Fox Sports in Australia and Sky Sport in New Zealand.