20 November 2021 | General

Jordan Boys takes stunning Race 2 Tasman Series win

S5000 ROOKIE Jordan Boys has stormed away from the field to record a stunning victory in the second race of the 2021 Shannons Tasman Series at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The Super2 Series regular started from the front row of the reversed top-nine grid and was never headed on his way to a maiden ‘wings and slicks’ win, while furious battling unfolded behind him to decide the minor places.

RESULTS: S5000 Tasman Series Race 2

With Boys’ 88 Racing ACM Finance car out in front, TCR Australia ace Aaron Cameron slotted into second in the early running, however was soon forced to ensure attack after attack from ex-F1 star Roberto Merhi.

The pair went toe-to-toe for several laps before the Alabar / Form 700 entry from Team BRM was able to squeeze past on lap 10.

He then set out in pursuit of Boys and reduced a seven-second lead to just three at the line, falling 0.01 seconds short of setting a new Sydney Motorsport Park lap record in the process.

Cameron finished a stout third in his second-ever S5000 race, while Cooper Webster was fourth in the second ever race for new team, Versa Motorsport.

Race 1 winner Tim Macrow converted ninth on the grid to fifth at the finish, ensuring he has enough points to start from pole position in tomorrow’s finale’.

Nathan Herne, Luis Leeds, Blake Purdie and James Golding – who survived a wild ride at turn one when he spun in the 240km/hr corner on lap three – were next.

Joey Mawson was 10th, however had a fraught day at the office after he once again suffered bad luck after being tipped into a spin at turn eight via contact with Blake Purdie.

Mawson had charged from 12th to sixth in the opening lap and was pressuring Macrow for a spot in the top five before the incident, which dropped him back to the rear of the field. The incident is being investigated by Motorsport Australia officials, leaving the final order provisional until otherwise notified.

With two races of seven complete, Tim Macrow leads the Shannons S5000 Tasman Series by seven points, with Luis Leeds in second and Roberto Merhi third.

The current standings also reflect the grid for the third race of the series on Sunday, with the grid determined by the points gained in qualifying, race one and race two.

That means Aaron Cameron will start fourth, Jordan Boys fifth and James Golding sixth – while Gold Star champion Joey Mawson goes from 12th.

Tomorrow’s race will be shown live on Fox Sports and Kayo Sports at 11:55am.

Standings after 2 of 7 races (Provisional)

  1. Tim Macrow 52
  2. Luis Leeds 45
  3. Roberto Merhi 44
  4. Aaron Cameron 43
  5. Jordan Boys 41
  6. James Golding 39
  7. Cooper Webster 32
  8. Ben Bargwanna 18
  9. Nathan Herne 17
  10. Yoshiaki Katayama 14
  11. Blake Purdie 12
  12. Joey Mawson 6