17 January 2022 | General

Sydney confirmed as fourth round of 2022 Gold Star season

SYDNEY MOTORSPORT PARK will stage the fourth round of the 2022 S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship this May 27-29. 

It completes the six-round Gold Star schedule that commences at Race Tasmania next month, before taking in rounds at Phillip Island, the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix, the newly announced Sydney event, the Merlin Darwin Triple Crown and the Sandown Grand Finale’.

The world class venue will host the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships in May, with another busy schedule to showcase some of the most competitive and exciting motorsport categories in the country, thanks to the support of Destination NSW.

Australian Racing Group categories will be among those to feature at the event, including the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series and the Trans Am Series among those expected to be part of the final line up.

The highly competitive Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge is also expected to be on show in Sydney.

Nestled in Sydney’s thriving west, Sydney Motorsport Park offers up impressive facilities that allows for racing under lights, as well as the ability to accommodate a wide range of categories.

Spectators, teams, competitors, officials and media crews will flock to the west of Sydney for the event, making the most of the many impressive accommodation options on offer, as well as award winning restaurants, cafes and retail precincts all nearby.

At the venue, fans will be able to enjoy more activations and activities than ever as part of the event, with full access to the pit paddock and the chance to meet the stars and cars of each category up close.

Tickets for the event will go on sale soon through the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships website.

“Sydney Motorsport Park is one of the most popular venues on our calendar, and it’s fantastic that our suite of Australian Racing Group categories will race there in May this year,” said Australian Racing Group CEO, Matt Braid.

“The facilities at SMSP are among the best in the country. Our competitors love it and the teams and sponsors enjoy the hospitality.

“The circuit holds a special place in ARG’s history, having been the site for our first TCR Australia round back in 2019. That was a significant moment for the organisation, so we have found memories, and look forward to making more in 2022 and beyond.”

2022 S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship  

  1. Symmons Plains Raceway (Race Tasmania) February 11-13 
  2. Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit (Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships) March 18-20 
  3. Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit (Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix) April 7-10 
  4. Sydney Motorsport Park (Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships) May 27-29
  5. Hidden Valley Raceway (Merlin Darwin Triple Crown) June 17-19 
  6. Sandown Motor Raceway (Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships) September 16-18

2022 S5000 Tasman Series 

  1. Surfers Paradise Street Circuit (Boost Mobile Gold Coast 500) October 29-30 
  2. Mount Panorama, Bathurst (Supercheap Auto Bathurst International) November 11-13 
  3. Sydney Motorsport Park (Supercars Championship) November 18-20