29 March 2022 | General

Albert Park S5000 winner to claim Alan Jones trophy

Drivers competing in the third round of the 2022 S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship will fight for the Alan Jones Trophy, with the event’s major prize named after the 1980 Formula One World Champion. 

Jones was to present the award named in his honour at the cancelled 2020 Grand Prix event, and will continue to support the category as S5000 returns to Albert Park to race this year.

While most famous for his Formula 1 exploits, Jones’ career prior to becoming World Champion was in F5000 open wheelers, the forerunner to today’s modern interpretation.

Jones cut his teeth in Formula 5000 racing in Europe, the USA and Australia – most famously driving an iconic Theodore Racing Lola T332 owned by Hong Kong businessman Teddy Yip to race wins in both the 1976 SCCA/USAC and 1977 Australian (Rothmans series) championships.

He has been a vocal supporter of S5000 since the categories inception.

“It’s terrific that after two years virtually lost to Covid, S5000 is finally running at the Australian Grand Prix, as it was originally scheduled to in 2020,” Alan Jones said.

“As I said last time, S5000 is a great formula for single seater racing in this part of the world. A full grid, at full noise, with some top young drivers, will be impressive.”

The S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship will tackle three races across the Australian Grand Prix program.

Following two practice sessions and qualifying on Thursday, S5000 will race once each on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday of the April 7-10 event.

A full field of 17 cars will compete, including the return of Aussie IndyCar and NASCAR driver James Davison.

Former Gold Star champion Tim Macrow holds a one-point lead over defending champion Joey Mawson following the first two rounds, with Cooper Webster and James Golding a further two points behind in a tie for third position.