10 April 2022 | General

Joey Mawson delivers perfect display in final Nulon S5000 encounter

Alabar/Form700 Team BRM driver Joey Mawson has completed the third round of the Nulon S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship in perfect fashion, leading from start to finish to take his second win of the weekend at Albert Park.

In front of the world’s best, the Mawson took his second race win of the weekend at the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix and is now the championship leader.

On pole courtesy of his Race 1 victory and ninth in yesterday evening’s second event, Mawson won the drag to Turn 1 as he swept across the circuit, with GRM Team Valvoline’s Nathan Herne snatching second from stablemate Aaron Cameron.

Cameron was further demoted to fourth as Tim Macrow completed a move around the outside at Turn 1. The second GRM Team Valvoline entry of James Golding also tried to take advantage at Turn 3, but just failed to complete the move.

Starting from the back, James Davison was making good progress to 11th after five laps, but the battle was for the minor placings where Herne led Macrow, Cameron, Golding, Blake Purdie, Cooper Webster, Zane Goddard, Ben Bargwanna and Kaleb Ngotoa.

Meanwhile, Mawson was 4.4s clear of the chasing pack and was the only driver lapping in the 1m 40s bracket, continuously lowering his mark.

Spins for Sebastien Amadio and Shae Davies dropped them to the back, but failed to haultthe race as the battle for second continued, though Herne continued to hold the ascendency to the final lap.

Mawson took out his second race of the weekend, albeit with less drama than the first ahead of Herne, who by the end had dropped into the 1m 40s to hold a comfortable gap back to title contender Macrow, Cameron and Golding.

In an impressive drive, Purdie finished sixth from Webster, Goddard, Bargwanna and Ngatoa.

The next round of Nulon S5000 is at Sydney Motorsport Park as part of a bumper Shannons Motorsport Australian Championships program on May 27-29.