22 May 2022 | General

Sydney, Darwin S5000 schedules set

THE SCHEDULE for the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship’s maiden trip to the Top End has been set.

Round 5 of the 2022 Gold Star series will see Australia’s top open-wheel category head to the Merlin Darwin Triple Crown for the first time this June 17-19.

The top end event has long been one of the most popular events on the calendar and this year will see S5000 join the Supercars, Superbikes, Porsche Carrera Cup and Top Fuel Drag Racing on a packed three-day program.

CLICK HERE for the Merlin Darwin Triple Crown schedule. 

S5000 practices twice on Friday, before qualifying and the first 23-lap race on Saturday.

A further two races on Sunday complete the program.

The S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship races at Sydney Motorsport Park next week – at the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships / SpeedSeries event – before heading to the Territory.

CLICK HERE for the Sydney schedule.

Sydney marks the commencement of the second half of the championship with defending winner Joey Mawson leading Tim Macrow and Cooper Webster in the standings with three rounds complete.

Action from Sydney will be broadcast live on Stan Sport, and on Saturday night, 9Gem.