28 May 2022 | General

Mawson clings on to S5000 pole amid GRM onslaught

JOEY MAWSON has clung on to his second straight S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship pole award and further extend his margin at the top of the Gold Star standings. 

The Form 700 / Alabar Team BRM driver withstood a late attack from Valvoline GRM drivers Aaron Cameron and James Golding following a mid session red flag after Shae Davies spun out of the session at turn 7.

Mawson was on top of the standings at the time but then spun off himself at turn four, watching the remainder of the session from the side lines.

Fortunately for Mawson, the Red flag was not shown meaning he kept his fastest lap and ultimately secured pole.

Despite Mawson’s off, Golding and Cameron flew in their pursuit of an S5000 pole.

Golding was first to attack, having failed to set a representative lap prior to the red flag flowing.

His first flyer fell just 0.3 seconds short of Mawson’s benchmark, but more was yet to come as Aaron Cameron’s final flyer went one better – his 1m24.3405s best bumping Golding to third.

Still, it ensured Mawson clung on to pole position with Cameron second for the second successive round.

Golding was third and Nathan Herne fourth meaning the GRM trio will go line astern in race one.

Tim Macrow qualified fifth for the third time this season with Cooper Webster, Blake Purdie and Shae Davies completing the grid.

The opening race will be the first ever Motorsport Australia Gold Star race to ever be held under lights and headlines 9Gem’s two hour live broadcast starting from 5:30pm AEST.

New customers can sign up to a Stan Sport 7-day free trial. Sign up now to watch all of the SpeedSeries action plus the Indy500 this weekend >>

International viewers can watch the action via

To be trackside at Sydney Motorsport Park, CLICK HERE for tickets.