14 January 2023 | General

S5000’s Best Drivers at AWC Race Tasmania

The fastest race cars in the country will again be racing at AWC Race Tasmania in 2023, following a record breaking event last year where the S5000s lowered the outright mark by 1.5s.

Across the previous two AWC Race Tasmania events, nine drivers have finished on the podium and its an impressive roll call featuring Gold Star winners in addition to leading young Australian talent.

Listed below are the most successful drivers at Symmons Plains in S5000

Four Podiums – Tim Macrow
The dual Gold Star winner has consistently displayed his quality around the 2.4km circuit and is just one of two drivers to win multiple races at Race Tasmania. Macrow won the second race in 2021 and the final outing in 2022, which the owner/driver backed up with a runner up finish in each of the two rounds. With Macrow’s recent announcement of his retirement from full-time racing, the door is wide open for someone new to put themselves atop the Race Tasmania podiums list.

Three Podiums – James Golding
A proven race winner in S5000, the Garry Rogers Motorsport star has missed out on collecting a victory at Symmons Plains so far. Golding’s three podiums at the event still place him above all but one driver, and if he returns for 2023 he’ll surely be one of the favourites.

Two Podiums – Joey Mawson, Thomas Randle, Josh Fife, Nathan Herne
Mawson’s only appearances on the podium have been on the top step, joining just Macrow as a multiple race winner at Race Tasmania. Randle’s sole season in S5000 got off to a strong start in 2021, when he finished second in race one before winning the final race of the weekend.

Fife’s podium record in S5000 is 66%, and that’s because his only round in the category netted the 88 Racing driver two podiums, including the race two win in 2022. Herne only featured at Symmons Plains in S5000 in 2021, but the 2022 Tasman Series Champion still boasts two podiums from his sole appearance.

One Podium – Tim Slade, Cooper Webster, Luis Leeds
Slade made an immediate impact on his debut in 2022, bringing his Team BRM machine home in third place in the opening race. Webster also featured on the podium that weekend for Versa Motorsport, picking up a second place finish in Race 3. Leeds raced for Garry Rogers Motorsport in his sole season in 2021, finishing second in Race 2 to get his year off to a solid start.

Who will feature on the podium at AWC Race Tasmania in 2023? Be there to find out on February 24-26.

CLICK HERE to secure your tickets.

If you can’t be trackside, watch all the SpeedSeries action live, uninterrupted and on-demand via Stan Sport. Sign up now for your free 7-day trial >>