1 June 2023 | General

Grid confirmed for S5000 Winton debut

There will be no changes to the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship entry list for the category’s debut appearance at Winton Motor Raceway as part of the 2023 Hi-Tec Oils Race Winton.

While the category has spent a lot of time testing at Winton, the third round of the 2023 season will be the first time the S5000s roar around the Victorian circuit for championship points with nine drivers locked in for the round.

Headlining the star-studded field will be two-time champion Joey Mawson, with the ACM driver to resume his battle against Versa Motorsport’s Cooper Webster after an exciting weekend in Phillip Island.

Despite Webster piling on the pressure after picking up the round win on the Island, Mawson was adamant nothing will change ahead for Winton as he looks to extend his lead at the top of the standings.

“It’s the same mindset as always. We approach the weekend trying to go for victories, and if you are winning races, then the championship takes care of itself,” Mawson said.

“The approach is always the same. We can’t afford to DNF or take risks and qualifying is crucial to seeing how each weekend will turn out.

“I don’t see myself as being the chaser; Cooper had a very strong round and hats off to him, but at the same time, nothing changes, and I have the same approach. I think I’m in a better position than I was this time last year in terms of points.”

One advantage for Webster at Winton will be having the help of his teammates with the youngster one of three drivers representing Versa Motorsport.

South Australian Blake Purdie continues his journey in his Nippy’s backed open-wheeler, while Winston Smith returns after a successful debut in Phillip Island and was pleased with how much he learned during his first race weekend.

“It was a really good experience,” Smith said.

“It was great to meet the new team and they were really helpful throughout the whole process.

“The whole thing was a big learning moment – getting comfortable with the car was the big thing but also adjusting to track conditions and changes in the feeling of the car each race.

“I’ll be racing at Winton; I’m looking forward to getting a bit more of a result and building from everything I learnt at Phillip Island.”

Versa won’t be the only team bringing a trio of drivers with Garry Rogers Motorsport (GRM) to bring its cohort of stars once again in James Golding, Jordan Boys and Aaron Cameron – all of whom are capable of taking out a round win and launching themselves into the title race.

Rounding out the entry list are The Fuzzies Game Team BRM entry piloted by South Australian driver Mark Rosser and Crown Windows / Hobart Powersports’ Nic Carroll who will be looking to work their way ever so closer to the podium positions.

The S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship will have practice and qualifying on Friday before their focus turns to the three races held on Saturday and Sunday, which will be broadcast live and ad-free via Stan Sport.

Saturday’s coverage on Stan Sport will take place from 11:00am to 5:00pm AEST, while 9Gem will showcase the series live and free from 2pm AEST. Sunday’s Stan Sport coverage will start from 9:30am and will conclude at 5:00pm.

Tickets to the event can be purchased via with plenty of ticketing options available.

The Shannons SpeedSeries’ Hi-Tec Oils Race Winton takes place at Winton Raceway on 9-11 June.


1 ACM Joey Mawson NSW S5000 5200 Purple/Pink/White
2 The Fuzzies Game Team BRM Mark Rosser SA S5000 5200 White/Blue
18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron VIC S5000 5200 Red/White
28 Versa Motorsport Winston Smith VIC S5000 5200 Black
31 Garry Rogers Motorsport James Golding VIC S5000 5200 Red/White
37 Versa Motorsport Cooper Webster VIC S5000 5200 Black/Yellow
48 Nippy’s Versa Motorsport Blake Purdie SA S5000 5200 Orange/White
49 Team Valvoline GRM Jordan Boys VIC S5000 5200 Black/Orange
96 Crown Windows / Hobart Powersports Nic Carroll VIC S5000 5200 Blue/Yellow