24 November 2023 | General

Cameron Claims Pole in Adelaide

Team Valvoline GRM’s Aaron Cameron has inched closer to his first Australian Drivers’ Championship after claiming pole position for the final round in Adelaide.

For the first time all weekend, the field would run in dry conditions, with brand-new sticker tyres on all eleven cars as the twenty-minute qualifying session began.

The Team Valvoline GRM trio of Thursday pacesetter Jordan Boys, championship leader Aaron Cameron, and S5000 returnee Nathan Herne would be a constant presence at the top of the timesheets through the opening half of the session.

Cameron would lead after the opening phase of qualifying on a 1m 16.7731s, just under four tenths ahead of Boys, with Herne a further tenth and a half back.

Several drivers were pushing the limits in their first dry running of the weekend, with Sebastien Amadio lucky to get away with a brush of the wall at turn eight, the scene of a big accident for the Amadio Wines entry in Practice One yesterday.

Herne would get mighty close to brushing the turn eight wall himself, with the Team Valvoline GRM entry lifting both front wheels off the ground as the car danced over the bumps through the sweeper.

Herne would then have another wild moment heading onto the pit straight after dipping his left-rear wheel into the grass on the exit of turn fourteen, spinning through 360 degrees and continuing on without touching the wall.

The Lismore product’s qualifying session would include one final spin at turn fourteen, this time after losing the rear on corner entry, ultimately costing Herne one final flying lap.

Herne’s misfortune would benefit both Blake Purdie and Ben Bargwanna, who would jump into third and fourth in the final stages of the session, leaving Herne on the third row in fifth position.

At the head of the field, championship leader Cameron would claim pole with a 1m 15.7770s, besting teammate Boys by just under four hundredths of a second.

Behind Herne the field was rounded out by Nic Carroll, Kaleb Ngatoa, Kobi Williams, Sebastien Amadio, Mark Rosser, and Cooper Webster, who was unable to set a representative lap time with a gearbox issue.

The S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship returns to the track for the first race of the Tasman Series at 2:15pm local time.

The race will be broadcast live via Fox Sports 506.