26 January 2021 | General

Tim Macrow claims shortened S5000 Sprint race

Tim Macrow has won a shortened second VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship sprint race today at Symmons Plains.

Starting from second on the grid – based on the top eight from qualifying but reversed – Macrow burst into an early lead and was on point when a Safety Car was called after Tommy Smith crashed existing turn three.

CLICK HERE for race results.

The race was completed behind the Safety Car, Macrow claiming his first championship S5000 race victory – the double Gold Star champion having won a pair of non-points races in late 2019.

The victory was also Macrow’s 31st in Australian Drivers’ Championship / Gold Star career, the most of any driver in the storied history of the championship.

Luis Leeds finished second while Nathan Herne charged to third position in the Valvoline Team GRM entry.

Race 1 winner Joey Mawson charged from seventh to fourth position, re-setting the Symmons Plains outright lap record in the process; the new benchmark standing at a flying 49.7242s.

His move through the field also ensured that the Team BRM entry will start the feature race from pole position; the grid determined based on points from qualifying and the pair of heat races.

James Golding, Thomas Randle, Cooper Webster and Ricky Capo completed the top eight, the latter finishing despite suffering a broken front wing following contact at the hairpin on the opening lap.

Antonio Astuti and Brayden Willmington completed the top-10, Tommy Smith the non-finisher.

The feature race for the VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship is set for a 2:45pm (AEDT) start time and will be broadcast live and free on the screens of Seven.