21 March 2021 | General

Mawson takes important Feature Race win, title lead at Sandown

Joey Mawson has put forward his claim for the 2021 VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship with a dominant display in the Feature race at Sandown this afternoon, securing the John Bowe Trophy.

Mawson led from the start and was never headed in the 16 lap journey, securing the win and officially taking the top spot in the chase for the Gold Star with one round to go.

It was a fabulous result at the head of the field for Mawson and his Team BRM, but before the race even started, Team BRM was licking its wounds with Heat 2 winner Kaleb Ngatoa clouting the wall at pit exit on the parade lap. The incident ruled him out of the race.

Second place went to Nathan Herne in the Valvoline GRM entry, running a smooth and fuss free race to secure his second podium finish in the series, following his debut effort at Symmons Plains.

Luis Leeds also achieved his best result for the year, taking third place, ahead of James Golding who stormed from eighth on the grid to only just miss out on a podium result.

Tim Macrow was fifth, while former title leader Thomas Randle was forced to fight from the rear after a spin on his own at the exit of Turn 1 during the opening laps. Randle was able to fight back to sixth.

Rounding out the field in the feature race was Cooper Webster, Antonio Astuti, Ricky Capo and Braydan Willmington.

The final round of quick-fire four round 2021 VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship will be held at Sydney Motorsport Park on April 30-May 2.

CLICK HERE for results.