18 March 2022 | General

Record pace in practice at Phillip Island

JAMES GOLDING has topped practice for round 2 of the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship, setting sub S5000 record pace at the 4.46km circuit in the process. 

The Valvoline GRM driver headed both sessions today, ending quickest with his 1m24.9261s best.

That time is 0.2 seconds quicker than Golding’s Phillip Island pole position time from last year and the quickest ever S5000 lap at the Island.

RESULTS: Practice 

Golding ended practice just 0.16 seconds quicker than rival Joey Mawson, who pushed his Form 700 / ALABAR entry from Team BRM to second with a 1m25.1301s best.

Zane Goddard was third on debut aboard the sister BRM entry, edging out his Kiwi teammate Kaleb Ngatoa by just a few tenths.

Cooper Webster was fifth for Versa Motorsport, with championship leader Tim Macrow sixth.

Blake Purdie was seventh in his Nippy’s 88Racing entry, while Versa Motorsport’s S5000 rookie Shae Davies was eighth.

Adam Garwood was ninth in his GRM entry.

Teams will have a quick turnaround prior to qualifying this afternoon, set for a 3:35pm AEDT kick-off.